Explore our Database List



All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > Theatre and Dance
Requires PirateID Login Open Access Resource Trial Resource
A
Academic Video Online (AVON)

Supports Multiple Research Clusters. An extensive, searchable collection of academic videos ranging many disciplines. A good general reference starting point for research. Topics include: anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music among others. Formats include documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels.

Art Bibliographies Modern (ABM)

A fully searchable index of journal, book, and dissertation abstracts in modern and contemporary visual art. Topic include: painting, performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists’ books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry and illustration, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Content spans 1974 – Present.

B
BBC Shakespeare Plays

Provides access to streaming video of film adaptations of 37 of William Shakespeare’s plays produced by the BBC.

D
Dance in Video

A collection of dance performances, documentaries, instructional videos and interviews available through online streaming videos. Sekections include ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental and improvisational dance.

Drama Online

Provides monologues, ensemble and one-person plays, comedies, tragedies, historical as well as contemporary content. New content is added regularly.

O
On the Boards.tv

Provides full-length, HD-quality contemporary performance films available for streaming, download or mobile viewing, presenting a snapshot of the best new works by current leaders in dance, theater and music.

Opera in Video

Contains opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

P
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly IIPA)

Provides blend of abstracts, indexing and full-text articles. Content covers a broad spectrum of arts and entertainment industry. Topics include: dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry and magic. Content spans 1864 – present, mostly from 1998 – present.

T
Theatre in Video: Volume I

A collection of plays, musicals, and documentaries in streaming video emphasizing English language theatre from the Elizabethan period through the 20th century. Includes interviews with actors, directors, writers, and designers.

Theatre in Video: Volume II

A collection of plays, musicals, and documentaries in streaming video emphasizing contemporary and international productions. Includes interviews with actors, directors, writers, and designers.

Research Guides