Explore our Database List



All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > B
B
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)

Supports multiple Research Clusters. Database that is a part of Agricultural and Environmental Science Database (ProQuest). To access content check box below the search bar for “Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) content only.”

Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)

Fully searchable, facsimile edition of the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

BBC Shakespeare Plays

Provides access to streaming video of film adaptations of 37 of William Shakespeare’s plays produced by the BBC.

Bibliography of the History of Art

A searchable index of abstracts from books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibitions, and journal articles on European and American art. Topics included: painting, sculpture, drawing, prints; decorative and applied arts, architecture and industrial design, popular and folk art. Inlcudes and expands on its predecessor indexes, RAA-Repertoire d’Art et d’Archeologie (1973 – 1989) and RILA-International Repertory of the Literature of Art (1975 – 1989).

Biography & Genealogy Master Index

Index that provides access to biographical sketches in editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

Biography Index: Past and Present

Index that provides access to article and book citations to biographies and autobiographies, interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews, bibliographies, and exhibition reviews. People covered range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.

Access is limited to 1 user at a time.

Biography Reference Bank

Supports multiple Research Clusters. Includes the in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index, and the specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. Provides full-text articles, images, and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.

Biography Reference Center

Provide access to full-text biographies. Users can locate biographies of interest by browsing key categories, including occupation, nationality, publication and more than 30 genre categories including actors, artists, athletes, authors, current world leaders, explorers, scientists and many others.

Biological Abstracts

Supports multiple Research Clusters. Indexing and abstracts of journal articles covering the life sciences literature worldwide.  Content spans: 1926 - Present.

Biological Science Database

Supports multiple Research Clusters. Provides biological sciences full-text titles from around the world including, scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Topics include animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. Also includes access to MEDLINE®.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive

Covers clinical medicine, nursing, allied health, public health, nutrition, health management information, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences.  Years of Coverage: Full text back as far as 1990 for some titles.

BioOne Complete

Supports multiple Research Clusters. A full-text database of over 200 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles. Topics include: biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Biotechnology Research Abstracts

Supports multiple Research Clusters. Database that is a part of Agricultural and Environmental Science Database (ProQuest). To access content check box below the search bar for “Biotechnology Research Abstracts content only.

Instructors may register for teaching privileges; contact the Joyner Research & Instructional Services Department for details. ECU students must register to manipulate the images for instructional purposes.  

Black Authors, 1556-1922

A collection of writings by black authors including downloadable letters, poems, essays, folktales, and pamphlets. Content spans 1556 - 1922.

Black Studies Center

Cross-searchable gateway to historical and current primary and secondary sources. Resources include scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, interviews and studies. Combines full-text and indexing, including Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index. Topics include: history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy and religion.

Black Thought and Culture

Non-fiction writings by major American black leaders, teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures. Includes letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trail transcripts. Includes blend of full-text for non-fiction writings and indexing. Content spans 1700 – Present.

Blackwell Reference Online

Part of Wiley Online Library, multidisciplinary database that primarily covers life, health and physical sciences, social science and humanities. Includes access to journals, e-books and reference titles. Contains mix of full-text and abstracts.

Bloomberg Businessweek Digital Archive

Supports Big Data and Analytics Research Cluster. Provides indexing, abstracting and full text for the Businessweek backfile. Topics include: business management, marketing, labor, finance, and economic policy. Content spans 1929 - 2000.

BMJ Best Practice

BMJ Best Practice gives medical professionals the best available information for any clinical situation. Regularly updated, it draws on the latest evidence-based research to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.

Book Review Digest

Provides reviews of fiction and non-fiction books. Includes excerpts, complete reviews and citations. Content spans 1903 – 1982.

Books In Print

Provides bibliographic information for books, audio books, and video titles. Includes information on availability of titles from distributors and wholesalers as well as information on out of print and forthcoming titles. Also contains the Bowker’s Publisher Authority Database, with contacts for publishers, distributors, wholesalers and book agents from around the world.

Britannica Online

General knowledge English language encyclopedia written and continuously updated by more than 4,000 contributors over time, including 110 Nobel Prize winners and five American presidents. Included are articles, dictionary, primary sources, news, journals and periodicals. Comprehensive resource for students seeking authoritative information on a variety of topics. Subscription will be cancelled on November 30, 2019.

British Library Newspapers

Supports multiple Research Clusters. Consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers. Includes full runs of 48 newspapers, national and regional papers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

British Newspapers (1600-1950)

A comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive. It provides access to historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and national & regional papers from British Isles. This interface searches: 17th-18th Century Charles Burney Collection of Newspapers and 19th century British Library Newspapers.

BrowZine

An app providing access to East Carolina Iniversity libraries’ electronic journals allowing you to browse journals by subject, create a bookshelf and easily access full-text content from your device or computer. The app is available for tablets, mobile devices and desktop.

Mobile Resources Overview

BuildingGreen

Supports multiple Research Clusters. Provides full-text access to sustainable design resources. Includes Environmental Building News, GreenSpec directory of products, the LEEDuser web tool, and the High Performance Buildings Database (HPB) which provides case studies on homes, commercial interiors, whole campuses, and neighborhoods. Topics include: architecture, sustainable materials, energy efficient appliances and equipment, building science, and codes and certifications.

Business Source Complete

Supports Big Data and Analytics Research Cluster. Provides full-text, indexing, and abstracts for scholarly business journals, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, and SWOT analyses. Topics include: marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. Content spans 1886 – Present.