Search across primary source collections from academic publisher Adam Matthew. Content covers African American history, gender and sexuality, global studies, popular culture in Britain and America, Colonial America, Victorian culture, Foreign Office Files for China and the Middle East, Medieval life and writing, social histories, Maritime history and more.
A collection of historical pamphlets, serials, books, and manuscripts on epidemics from world history from Harvard University Library’s Open Collections Program. Topics include germ theory, public health, vaccination, medical geography, and humoral theory.
The College of Physicians of Philadelphia Digital Library is a searchable image database and exhibition platform dedicated to celebrating and communicating the history of medicine. The Digital Library launched in December 2013 with nearly 1,000 images drawn from the Historical Medical Library collection, with strengths in the history of anatomy and botanical medicine. Highlights include images from rare incunabula previously unavailable online, unusual selections from more popular early modern anatomists, and over 300 photos from the Philadelphia General Hospital Photograph Collection. All images are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
The Medical Heritage Library (MHL), a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine.
From the beginning of the Crimean War to the discovery of penicillin, Medical Services and Warfare gathers material from multiple conflicts and institutions to build a picture of the experience and development of medical practice as influenced by the wars of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries
This collection from Duke University Libraries explores the complex relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising, or "Madison Avenue," as the latter is colloquially termed. It presents images and information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. These ads illustrate the variety and evolution of marketing images from the 1910s through the 1950s.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Tip: There are several versions of Ovid's Medline to choose from which vary by date. Many find it useful to select the first or second version and then limit dates for their searches.
This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.
The NLM History of Medicine Division collects, preserves, makes available, and interprets for diverse audiences one of the world’s richest collections of historical material related to health and disease.
The Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office (Index-Catalogue) is a multi-part printed bibliography or list of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office, U.S. Army. It contains material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research.
The Osler Library Prints Collection brings together a rich variety of visual documents related to the history of medicine, spanning several centuries, countries, and artistic media. Ranging from the seventeenth to the twentieth century, the collection consists predominantly of prints, though it also includes some photographs, drawings, posters, and cartoons.
Popular Medicine in America presents materials from the Library Company of Philadelphia’s extensive collection. The resource documents the history of ‘popular’ medicine in America during the nineteenth century, featuring a wide variety of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals, and which enabled the ordinary person to treat himself and his family at home using an array of inventive methods and fashionable techniques. The material includes: Advertisements (in the form of posters, broadsides, trade cards, and leaflets), popular educational texts aimed at a non-professional audience, writings on preventive medicine and guides to a healthy regimen. Themes that are covered include: herbal medicine, hydrotherapy, the Thomsonian Movement, homeopathy, phrenology, women’s health and childbirth, and ‘Quack’ cures.
Digitized artworks and photographs from the Wellcome Collection’s library. Wellcome had a personal interest in medical and ethnographic objects and the objects, artworks and photographs he collected were initially presented in the Wellcome Historical Medical Museum. Over the subsequent decades the library and its collections developed to become Wellcome Collection as it now is: a free museum and library exploring health, life and our place in the world.
Digitized archives of the Royal College of Physicians of London from ~1300 to 1980, and contains a range of searchable monographs, rare books, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, medical reports, medical education textbooks, proceedings, lectures, anatomical drawings, public health surveys, photographs, drawings, data and ephemera produced by the researchers and members of the RCP