Explore our Database List



All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Databases > E-books and Audiobooks
A
ABC-CLIO E-books

A catalog of primary source material, collateral readings, and commentary for understanding the historical, social, and cultural contexts associated with major literary works. Each sourcebook includes timelines, study questions, teaching resources, and glossaries. Formerly Literature in Context.

ACLS Humanities E-book

Supports STEAM Education Research Cluster. A collection of humanities titles chosen by scholars in the disciplines and offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with a variety of academic societies and contributing publishers. Content spans 1850 – Present.

ASME Digital Collections

Supports STEAM Education Research Cluster. A repository of current and archival literature of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, including ASME’s Transaction Journals, Conference Proceedings and Press eBooks. Abstract and full-text links are available. Content spans 1960 – Present.

E
Early English Books Online

A collection of titles on topics including English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts. Content spans: 1475 - 1700

Ebook Central

A collection of full-text ebooks. Topics include: business, education, health and medicine, history and political science, science and technology.

eBooks on EBSCOhost

A platform for accessing and retrieving reference, scholarly and professional e-books. Topics include commerce and finance, educational theory and practice, internal medicine, religion, social and public welfare.

F
Free Books 4 Doctors

Includes many important medical textbooks available online with unrestricted access. Free and in full-text.

G
GeoScienceWorld ebooks Collection

A collection of earth sciences eBooks including Geological Society of America’s Special Papers and Memoirs Series. Content spans 1926 - 2018.

J
Joyner Library's Ebooks & Audiobooks

Supports multiple Research Clusters. Ebooks & Audiobooks available via Joyner Library.

M
MackinVIA

Provides easy access to children’s eBooks for students from preschool through grade 12. Many of the eBooks are interactive, and the collection includes fiction and nonfiction books, the classics, award-winning titles, and more.

N
NC Live Ebooks

Supports multiple Research Clusters. Ebooks available via NC Live.

O
Open Education North Carolina Collection

A curated collection of free textbooks for 30 of the most frequently-taught courses across North Carolina’s 2 and 4-year colleges and universities.

Open Library NC

Provides access to digital scans of books contributed by libraries across the country, including many North Carolina Libraries. Made available to North Carolinians through a collaboration between the Internet Archive and NC LIVE.

P
PubMed BookShelf

The Bookshelf is a growing collection of biomedical books. Books are also linked to terms in PubMed abstracts so, when viewing an abstract, select the "Books" link to see phrases within the abstract hyperlinked to book sections.

R
RBdigital

Provides downloadable and unabridged audiobooks and e-books that are Itunes and Windows Media Player compatible. Users must create an account before they can begin downloading.

S
SpringerLink

Supports multiple Research Clusters. Provides abstracts and full-text access to journals, books, and conference proceedings. Emphasis is on science, mathematics, and engineering but content also includes business, medicine, political science, and the humanities. “Preview-only” search results can be filtered. Content spans 1900 – Present.

T
TeachingBooks

Provides resources to enhance literacy and library activities for fiction and nonfiction books used in the K-12 environment.